Australia

australia_0

Australia is one of the first places I want to visit. As you can see from the picture above, the wildlife there is amazing!  Most of Australia’s fauna and flora cannot be found anywhere else in the world. Taking a backpacking trip through Australia would be surreal. Although I love the city life, one of my favorite things about Australia is that vegetation covers about 91% of the country. The reason that so much of Australia can still be covered in vegetation is because 80% of the population lives within about 63 miles from the coast. This means that the center of Australia is largely vegetation and free from human interference. I think that having a life full of a busy ocean living, and then the option to retreat into the rainforest for some relaxation, from the beach. Yeah, who needs relaxation from the beach? I am not sure, but if you did, the rainforest would welcome you. large_detailed_wildlife_map_of_australia_1

Another wonderful thing about Australia is the diversity of the cultures. There are over 200 different languages spoken in Australia, including 45 indigenous languages. I have lived my whole life never leaving the United States, not really ever leaving the East Coast. I crave the diversity of new places and new experiences. Australia day is a celebration of the diversity and the acceptance of all ethnicities and political viewpoints. Australia was the second country in the world to given women the right to vote in 1902. 

Do you know what the capital of Australia is? Well, I will give you a hint. It is not Sydney or Melbourne. The answer is Canberra. Sydney and Melbourne kept arguing about which city should become the capital, and to stop the arguing, Canberra was selected to be the capital.  I loved the Tasmanian devil cartoon character as a child. I remember discovering that Tasmania was a real place, and I have been dreaming about it since. It is a small island, about 35,000 sq miles, off the coast of Australia. 

One day I will go to Australia and I hope it’s better than my imaginary adventure. 

Leave a Reply

